Topic: The Office of Professional Responsibility: What you need to Know about Practicing before the IRS (rebroadcast)
Date: Wednesday January 17, 2018
Times: 2:00 p.m. Eastern; 1:00 p.m. Central; Noon Mountain; 11:00 a.m. Pacific
Duration: Two hours

Webinar featuring OPR Director Stephen Whitlock with live Q&A at the end of the presentation

Topics include:

  • Regulations governing tax practice before the IRS (Circular 230, Rev. 6/2014)
  • Due diligence obligations of tax professionals
  • Overview of other key Circular 230 provisions
  • Practitioner responsibilities to their clients and to the tax administration system
  • Best practices for all tax professionals
  • Office of Professional Responsibility policies and procedures

Register for the webinar

Earn two CE credits in ethics

To receive a certificate of completion and CE credit, you must:

  • View the live presentation on 1/17/18 for at least 100 minutes from the start of the program.
  • To confirm your attendance and receive your certificate of completion, view the presentation while signed-in using the same email address used to register; you will not receive credit by watching this webinar on someone else’s computer.
  • Groups cannot register with one email address and receive separate certificates; each person must register separately.
  • Look for your Certificate of Completion by email approximately three weeks after the broadcast.
  • If you have met all requirements, you will automatically receive your certificate of completion by email about three weeks after the event.

Enrolled Agents or other tax return preparers attending for education on a voluntary basis must register using your 8-digit PTIN and name as shown on your PTIN card or letter. If you don’t have a PTIN, you will receive a certificate; however, your credit will not be reported to the IRS. Other tax professionals will receive a certificate and may receive credit if the broadcast meets their organizations’ or states’ CPE requirements.

Stay in-the-know on the go! View IRS webinars on smartphones and tablets.

Find this event archived on the IRS Video Portal about three weeks after it airs.